Buriram United

Buriram sepia

Club info

Buriam United was founded way back in 1970 as Provincial Electricity Authority FC, owned by the same company. In 2008, back than the club was based in the city of Ayutthaya, surprisingly, became champion of the TPL ahead of hot favored Chonburi FC.

At the end of 2009, Thai politician Newin Chidchob took control over the club and transferred him to Buriram, a city in the north-eastern part of Thailand.

In 2010 Buriram-PEA finished runner-up and reached the final of the League Cup.
Just one season later Buriram broke all records and won the treble.

At the end of the same year, 2011, the club merged with Buriram FC, which till than was lead by Newin Chidchob's wife Karuna, and got renamed Buriram United.

In 2011, 2013 and 2015 the club won a treble of League, FA Cup and League Cup.


No club in Thailand knows to polarize fans throughout the country like Buriram. Either one hates, or one loves the side. The latter applies rather to fans, which be connected to Buriram in any form. Opponents, with pleasure like to refer on the Sun king, patriarch habits of club boss Newin Chidchob and his wife Karuna.

The club owns the biggest stadium of Thailand in private hands. It suffices international standards and official internationals may be held here.

player to watch:

Jajá Coelho, Sölvi Ottesen, Supachok Sarachat

new I-mobile Stadium


Capacity: 33.000
City: Buriram
Geo-coordinates: 14.965564, 103.094277
>> more travel and direction tips in our German forum
Buriram United badge
Buriram United
บุรีรัมย์ ยูไนเต็ด
founded: 1970 (as PEA FC)
president: Newin Chidchob
head coach: Ranko Popović (Serbia)
nickname: Thunder Castle
club colors
website n/a
fansite: n/a
twitter: n/a
facebook: Buriram on Facebook
TPL 2016 4th
Thai Premier League
Champion 2011, 2013, 2014
runner-up 2010
Thai FA Cup winner 2011, 2012, 2013
League Cup
winner 2011, 2012, 2013
finalist 2010
Kor Royal Cup
winner 2013, '14, '15

8338 reads
Copyright © by Thai Football | since 2009

Printer Friendly Page

[ Go back ]

Legal Notice  |   Terms of use  |   Privacy policy

CSS Template by webjestic modiefied by Marko Pohl for

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
For more Details, take a look in our Imprint
© 2009 - 2020 by Thai Football | since 2009